European Blitz Chess Championship 2014: David Navara convincing winner


On 19 December 2014 by admin
The European Championship in Blitz took place on Friday in the Centennial Hall in Wroclaw. Czech Grandmaster David Navara was the best among the 600 players. Jan Krzysztof Duda, a 16-year old Polish player took the second place, and the winner of the third place was a Spanish player Ivan Lopez Salgado.

More than 600 players from 31 countries competed for the title of the best European player in the Centennial Hall. Czech Grandmaster David Navara from the beginning was a leading player and won game after game. In the 9th round he won 2:0 with the Polish Master Bartosz Soćko, became a leader of a game and didn’t give up this place until the very end of the tournament. He won a gold medal by winning the last round with a Russian player Nikita Vitiugov. – I admit that I am surprised by this result. I was in a very good shape today, and I was very lucky as well – said the Chech player, who is very well-known and liked in Poland, where he represents the club Wasko Hetman Katowice in the Team Extra League.

Two rounds before the end of the tournament the second leading player was Mateusz Bartel, quadruple master of Poland and the captain of the Polonia Wroclaw Chess Club, but in the last two rounds he lost some games and fell to the 14th place. On the other hand, 16-year old Jan Krzysztof Duda did very well in the last two rounds, where he won 17 points – as many as five other leading players. Additional points decided about the winner, and the best result belonged to the young Polish player, who won the silver medal! The bronze medal went to Spanish player Ivan Lopez Salgado.

In the Friday tournament the players had only 3 minutes for each game. On Saturday and Sunday they will compete in European Rapid Chess Championship and the game time will be longer – 15 minutes. Live transmission can be watched on the official website of the Championship:

Best ten players of the European Championship in Blitz: 1. David Navara (Czech Republic) – 19 pt., 2. Jan Krzysztof Duda (Poland), 3. Iva Lopez Salgado (Spain), 4. Boris Savchenko (Russian Federation), 5. Evgeny Alekseev (Russian Federation), 6. David Guijarro Anton (Spain), 7. Zahar Efimenko (Ukraine) – all players with 17 pt., 8. Olexandr Bortnyk (Ukraine), 9. Anton Korobov (Ukraine), 10. Igor Kovalenko (Ukraine) – all players with 16,5 pt.



David-Navara-ECU (1)

Offical Site

Final Standings